FRONTLINE (PBS) Wins 3 Edward R. Murrow Awards | FRONTLINE

August 11, 2022


Anne Husted
Manager, Public Relations & Communications, FRONTLINE

The Radio Television Digital News Association announced today that FRONTLINE has been honored with three 2022 Edward R. Murrow Awards, recognizing the award-winning PBS series’ innovative storytelling, documentary journalism and collaborative investigative reporting.

Un(re)solved, FRONTLINE’s 2021 multiplatform project in partnership with Ado Ato Pictures, won the Murrow Award for Excellence in Innovation.

In the award-winning web interactive, augmented-reality installation, audiences enter a virtual forest of quilted memories to learn about four people whose untimely deaths were re-examined as part of a federal effort to grapple with America’s legacy of racist killings through the Emmett Till Unsolved Civil Rights Crime Act. From there, audiences can explore all of the more than 150 names associated with the Till Act, collected in an accessible public forum for the first time: voting rights advocates; veterans; the first Black female prosecutor in Louisville, Kentucky; business owners; mothers; fathers and children.

To create the AR installation and digital interactive components of Un(re)solvedFRONTLINE partnered with Ado Ato Picturesa premier mixed-reality studio founded by artist, filmmaker and technologist Tamara Shogaolu. The project was executive produced by award-winning filmmakers Dawn Porter (John Lewis: Good Trouble; Gideon’s Army) and Raney Aronson-Rath (executive producer and editor-in-chief, FRONTLINE). earlier this year, Un(re)solved was also honored with a Scripps Howard Award and a News & Documentary Emmy Nomination.

The award also recognizes the project’s podcast, Un(re)solved. From award-winning reporter and podcast host James Edwards (16 Shots and South Side Stories), the series explores the Till Act, interweaving Edwards’ personal story as he reflects on his family’s experience with racist violence.

American Insurrection, FRONTLINE’s April 2021 investigative documentary in partnership with ProPublica and Berkeley Journalism’s Investigative Reporting Program, won the Murrow Award in the “Feature Documentary” category.

From director Richard Rowley, correspondent and producer AC Thompson, and producers Karim Hajj and Jacqueline Soohen, the 90-minute documentary examined the evolution of violent extremism in America, from the wake of the deadly 2017 Charlottesville rally through the Jan. 6, 2021, riot at the US Capitol. earlier this year, American Insurrection was honored with a George Polk Award.

FRONTLINE and ProPublica’s broader investigative reporting on the insurrection at the US Capitol and the rise of extremism in America was also recognized by the Murrows with the award for “Continuing Coverage.” Among the reporting acknowledged was FRONTLINE and ProPublica’s investigation into the Boogaloo Bois: a heavily armed, militia-trained group committed to overthrowing the government.

“We are honored to see both our innovative, investigative and collaborative storytelling recognized by the Radio Television Digital News Association with these Edward R. Murrow Awards,” says Raney Aronson-Rath, executive producer and editor-in-chief of FRONTLINE. “We are grateful to Tamara Shogaolu, Ado Ato Pictures, StoryCorps, Black Public Media and Northeastern University’s Civil Rights and Restorative Justice Project for working with us to shine a light on victims of racial violence in Un(re)solved; and to our longtime partners at ProPublica and Berkeley Journalism’s Investigative Reporting Program for helping us report on domestic extremism and the threats it poses to American democracy, and WNET’s Exploring supporting Hate for generously this investigative work.”

“And of course, we are immensely thankful to GBH, PBS and CPB for supporting FRONTLINE’s commitment to investigative journalism in all forms,” ​​adds Aronson-Rath.

You can read a full list of this year’s Edward R. Murrow Award winners hereand explore our award-winning reporting below:

American Insurrection (Credits)

Un(re)solved (About)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *